Around the town

Graffiti on trains, a homeless man, and a fellow photographer….

This is how I spent my sunday in Woodstock, Ontario Canada.

Every weekend I like to get out around my home town or a town/city near it and get some shutter banging in. My friend and fellow photographer Darrell Harrington from London, Ontario came to my little home town to make some images. Darrell and I really didn’t know what we were going to shoot, it was more of a ” drive around, look and shoot whatever we see and find interesting”. what did we come across…. well, for the amount of driving we did there wasn’t enough image making. Here’s some of the images from todays drive:

 

The image below was something I found while driving down near some train tracks I spend a lot of time near for a series I’ve started thats all about the art of graffiti. This is one of the best graffiti art pieces I’ve seen come through my town. I like to shoot train graffiti because new train cars are always showing up on these tracks and there’s always new art work to capture.

 

shutter click.

 

© Kevin Vyse Photography all rights reserved 2013
© Kevin Vyse Photography
all rights reserved 2013

The image below is of Darrell, my friend and fellow photographer from London, Ontario. This was a spot just on the out skirts of my home town which is a big swamp area full of old dead trees, water and wild life. Darrell was setting up to do some HDR shots out over the water, as I walked down a ways to see if there was anything else I could shoot. On the way back I saw Darrell sitting there and instantly liked the light and the colours and thought ” Panorama”

© Kevin Vyse Photography all rights reserved 2013
© Kevin Vyse Photography
all rights reserved 2013

the next image below is of ” Johnny “. this is a homeless man that has been around my town for years, who i’ve always wanted to photograph. I’m not the kind of guy that can just walk up to people and ask to do a portrait. Darrell on the other hand is, and he did! He offered johnny $5 to be able to do a portrait of him, which is what i’ve wanted to do but couldn’t work up the nerve to ask. After Darrell did his portrait and we thanked him and paid him, we walked across the street to get in the car. I looked back and saw Johnny standing there in really nice light and couldn’t help but shoot a frame of him casually standing there, rocking back and forth with his sign and hands in his pockets. This is one of the kindest people I’ve come across in a long time, he was so happy and into having his portrait taken, he thought we were with the paper lol.

© Kevin Vyse Photography  all rights reserved 2013
© Kevin Vyse Photography
all rights reserved 2013

Finally, this image below was one I did when I got home from our long day. I had been watching some Lighting DVDs’ by David Hobby from strobist.com and wanted to practice some of what I had learned. This is a two light set up ( SB-800 and an SB-80DX) self portrait done in a small room with a black reflector background and a westcott 60″ reflective umbrella, shot with the Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8

© Kevin Vyse Photography all rights reserved 2013
© Kevin Vyse Photography
all rights reserved 2013

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

